The Board of Supervisors is the governing body of Antis Township and is comprised of five elected officials. Each of the five Supervisors is elected at large and for six year terms. The Board of Supervisors is the policy-making body for the Township and is responsible for setting tax rates, approving the annual budget and enacting local laws (ordinances). The Board also appoints citizens to serve on the Township Planning Commission.

In a Board/Manager form of government, the Township Code provides a distinction between policy-making functions and administrative functions. The Board of Supervisors is responsible for the policy-making functions. The Board of Supervisors meets the first Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the meeting room of the township building at 909 North Second Street. The Capital Improvement Committee meets in a public forum the second Tuesday of each month sufficient agenda items exist. To be placed on the agenda for either meeting, submit your request to the Township Secretary by 12:00 noon on the Thursday prior to the meeting.

Board Member Term Expiration
Chairman – Elected at Large
David Worthing (814) 931-5751
PO Box 156, Bellwood, PA 16617
Supervisor – Elected at Large
Steve Winterstein (814) 940-7223
142 Kings Highway, Altoona, PA 16602
Supervisor – Elected at Large
Kenneth W. Hostler (814) 684-3900
321 Lee Drive, Tipton, PA 16686
Supervisor – Elected at Large
Janet Lantz (814) 944-2071
135 Franklin Circle, Altoona, PA 16601
Supervisor – Elected at Large
Robert Smith Jr. (814) 684-3433
104 Bland Street, Tipton, PA 16686

The 2021 Election

As there are two unexpired vacancies to be filled, three supervisors will be elected in 2021.

  • A two year term created when C.J. Caracciolo resigned in early 2021.
  • A four-year term created when Timothy Mercer resigned in 2020.
  • The regularly scheduled six-year seat now held by Kenneth Hostler.

Contact the Board of Supervisors

If you would like to speak with one of the Supervisors, you may leave a message at the Township office during regular business hours – Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Antis Township Municipal Building
909 North Second Street
Bellwood, PA 16617
Phone: (814) 742-7361
Fax: (814) 742-9820

Useful Documents

Useful Forms